Portal Homepage



This Week's Ad


You are here: Community St. Thomas-Elgin Ontario Works Home Page Unspecified

St. Thomas-Elgin Ontario Works

 The Social Services Departments of the City of St. Thomas and The County of Elgin were amalgamated on January 1, 2022 to form the present day St. Thomas-Elgin Ontario Works Department.  The City of St. Thomas was designated the Service Manager and delivers programs through the Ontario Works Department to both the City and the County.  Ontario Works is the only City department that services both City and County.

The County of Elgin stretches approximately 160 km along the north shore of Lake Erie with the City of St. Thomas at the centre of the county.  The County is bordered on the east by the County of Norfolk, on the west by the Municipality of Chatham-Kent and on the north by the City of London. The County of Elgin is composed of the following:  The Municipality of West Elgin, The Municipality of Dutton/Dunwich, The Municipality of Central Elgin, The Municipality of Bayham, The Town of Aylmer, The Township of Malahide and The Township of Southwold.  The City of St. Thomas remains a separated city within Elgin County.

The St. Thomas-Elgin Ontario Works Department administers the following services to residents of the City of St. Thomas and the County of Elgin:


Ontario Works Services

Child Care

Social Housing  


Water Filter Fund

Mission Statement and Guiding Principles


Portal Home Page | Policy Statement | Privacy Statement | Acceptable Use Agreement powered by D8